Getting Started - Absolute Beginner

Discuss EarMaster, ear training, theory or music in general, ask questions and share your experience.

Moderator: Quentin

Barrie
Ear training freshman

Getting Started - Absolute Beginner

Post by Barrie » Apr 15, 2014 3:59 pm

I am having trouble getting anything to work in Earmaster! How do I sing a note? What is a 'do'? How do I enter the answer to a question ... eg. I would like to match a pitch with my voice - how do I get Earmaster to ask for a note and then how do I recognize that it is waiting for a note, and then how do I enter the note through my microphone, and how do I know when I get it right? Most of the instructions in help use terminology I don't understand and I cannot find any background explanations (in beginner form) for what the program is asking me to do or exactly how to go about it?

There is a tutorial item on the webpage but nothing is in it! A video explanation for each exercise would be helpful ... especially if it started with a good explanation of what it is asking for and then a demonstration of how to go about doing the exercise.

I really would appreciate some help which is in one place. The forum items jump all over the spectrum from beginner to advanced.

Thank you.

briesmith
Ear training enthusiast

Re: Getting Started - Absolute Beginner

Post by briesmith » Apr 20, 2014 3:40 am

Hi Barrie

I agree with you.

There's not much for absolute beginners to chew on in order to find their way around.

It's proving to be a real problem to me as I can't get my laptop to sync (because it's got a laptop capable processor and shared audio memory like most laptops) which makes any sort of progress pretty impossible.

And looking through the forum there are a lot of unanswered/not responded to questions like yours, so not much help there either.