Metronom in Melody Imitation

Discuss the iPad version of EarMaster (support, feedback, feature requests, etc.)

Moderator: Quentin

User avatar
bobmusic
Ear training enthusiast
Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 29, 2013 3:49 am
Location: Germany

Metronom in Melody Imitation

Postby bobmusic » Apr 11, 2017 7:28 am

In the Jazz Exercises of melody imitation there are melodys of two bars in length and some start with a rest in the first bar. But the Metronom is not playing while listening to the excersise. So, for me, it's more like guessing where the melody actually starts.
My wish is to have the option turning the Metronom permanently on during the whole exercise.

Best regards, Robert

User avatar
Quentin
EarMaster.com
Posts: 1904
Joined: Apr 27, 2007 1:25 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Metronom in Melody Imitation

Postby Quentin » Apr 12, 2017 1:28 am

Hi,
In most of the Jazz melody imitation exercises, you get one bar of metronome to cue you in and enable you to catch the pulse. Isn't it these in the exercises you have tried? If not, which exercise(s) are you referring to exactly?
- Because in Music, We're All Ears... -

User avatar
bobmusic
Ear training enthusiast
Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 29, 2013 3:49 am
Location: Germany

Re: Metronom in Melody Imitation

Postby bobmusic » Apr 13, 2017 4:56 am

Quentin wrote:
> Hi,
> In most of the Jazz melody imitation exercises, you get one bar of
> metronome to cue you in and enable you to catch the pulse. Isn't it these
> in the exercises you have tried? If not, which exercise(s) are you
> referring to exactly?

In jazz exercises it's melody imitation 1.5
Yes, that's right, before recording the answer there is a precount bar, and even after precounting the metronome plays through. I miss the option that the metronome plays during the whole exercise, that means also when the example is given. When I have a 2 bar example and the melody starts at the last eights note in the first bar it would be much clearer to hear the beat.

Also I found a bug in the same exercise: There is a 2 bar exercise starting with two quarter triplets. When the exercise is played the second time, the precount starts in the first bar instead in the precount bar (where is then silence) and when it is played the third time, precount is shifted for another bar and starts in bar 2. That's confusing.

Best regards, Robert

User avatar
Quentin
EarMaster.com
Posts: 1904
Joined: Apr 27, 2007 1:25 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Metronom in Melody Imitation

Postby Quentin » Apr 18, 2017 2:35 am

Hi Robert,

Thank you very much for the bug report. We have managed to reproduce it, and we're taking care of it asap.
As for the metronome playing during the exercise, I have notified the developers about it so that they may consider adding that as an option.
- Because in Music, We're All Ears... -

User avatar
bobmusic
Ear training enthusiast
Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 29, 2013 3:49 am
Location: Germany

Re: Metronom in Melody Imitation

Postby bobmusic » Apr 18, 2017 4:04 am

Hi Quentin,

to have the option for a constant metronome click would be great, thank you!

User avatar
Peter Wespi
Ear training freshman
Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 14, 2017 5:44 am

Re: Metronom in Melody Imitation

Postby Peter Wespi » Sep 14, 2017 5:49 am

I'm missing the option for a metronome click during the exercise too! Hope, this option will released too :-)

User avatar
Quentin
EarMaster.com
Posts: 1904
Joined: Apr 27, 2007 1:25 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Metronom in Melody Imitation

Postby Quentin » Sep 15, 2017 2:28 am

Hi guys,

It's on our developers' to-do list, so it will be added as soon as possible :)
- Because in Music, We're All Ears... -


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests