stuck in Minor 2nd & Major 2nd - Harmonic (common tone)

Discuss EarMaster, ear training, theory or music in general, ask questions and share your experience.

Moderator: Quentin

Shinwei
Ear training freshman

stuck in Minor 2nd & Major 2nd - Harmonic (common tone)

Post by Shinwei » Aug 24, 2014 10:56 am

I am a beginner.
I can get 100% in Minor 2nd & Major 2nd - Descending (common tone) of interval comparison.
but I'm stuck in Minor 2nd & Major 2nd - Harmonic (common tone).
I have tried more than 10 times and the best score was 76% :( .
I feel that there's a huge gap between the 2 lessons.
Is any better way to help me go through it?

Quentin
EarMaster.com

Re: stuck in Minor 2nd & Major 2nd - Harmonic (common tone)

Post by Quentin » Aug 25, 2014 1:45 am

Have you tried to sing each of the intervals before answering? Singing is your best ally for ear training, it will speed up your progression dramatically.
- Because in Music, We're All Ears... -

pezking12
Ear training rookie

Post by pezking12 » Feb 12, 2015 9:43 pm

I was going to ask this exact same question but saw it has been asked already. I am the same - I am a beginner when it comes to delving into ear training etc, and find the jump into this lesson a significant leap in difficulty from the earlier lessons.

The intervals are extremely fast so I'm not sure how easy it is to apply the singing suggestion originally posted ?

I have read rave reviews about this program, and will stick with it, but would have hoped there would be better explanatory material than what there is for this. Sometimes I can tell ok, othertimes not so much, and there isn't a lot to help suggest what I should be listening for.
Any help appreciated!

Quentin
EarMaster.com

Post by Quentin » Feb 13, 2015 2:12 am

An efficient trick to memorize harmonic intervals is to assign a "mood" or color to each of them that describes the effect each interval has on you.